Mozzarella Stuffed Sausage Meatballs

meatballs_bowl

I recently made up some meatballs and my eight year old told me “Mommy, these would be so yummy with cheese inside”. Well, I took her advise. The family was eating them almost as fast as I took them out of the skillet so I though I’d share!!

You will need:

1 package Jimmy Dean Regular Sausage

2 eggs (beaten with salt, pepper and milk as if you were making scrambled eggs)

1 medium onion, finely chopped

1 Tbs minced garlic (I used the jarred kind but fresh would work too!)

1 1/2 to 2 cups Italian bread crumbs

1/2 lb Mozzarella cut into 1/4 inch squares

Mix together the sausage, beaten eggs, chopped onion, garlic and bread crumbs until you have a meatloaf textured mixture. Take dabs about as big around as a quarter and roll into a ball. Press your thumb into the ball making a deep indent. Place once square of cheese inside, pinching the mixture closed over the cheese. Roll into a ball. Complete until finished.

I placed all the meatballs on a cookie sheet which was covered in saran wrap and let them sit in the refrigerator a couple of hours. This step is completely optional but I’ve found that it helps them hold together in the cooking process.

Lightly oil a hot skillet and place meat balls inside. They will not all fit at once. Cover skillet to insure they cook all the way through. I like to “toss” the skillet to rotate the meatballs. You can use a spoon or spatula if you prefer.

Serve however you desire. You do want to eat them while they are still pretty warm or the cheese begins to harden. Leftovers are even tasty ran through the microwave!!

Hope you enjoy this recipe as much as my family!

 

4 thoughts on “Mozzarella Stuffed Sausage Meatballs

Leave a Reply

