My Daughter’s Ears are Broken

FullSizeRender

Yes, I swear, they really are broken. Or, at least that’s how it feels when I’m endlessly repeating my self. It seems to be worse lately. I’m super frustrated, but haven’t pulled my hair out yet! I ask her to do something and she doesn’t do what I ask. I’ll ask her to stop doing something and she won’t stop. She asks for something, I say no and continues to ask me the same thing in ten slightly different ways. Maybe 8 is just a second “terrible twos”. No one told me about the “terrible eights”!

I’m in the middle of cooking dinner. She comes in, “Mom, I want to get my plate” (which means climbing on the counter in the middle of where I’m cooking to dig in the cupboard). “No, Sweetie, you can wait until I’m done cooking dinner. “Mom, can’t I just choose my plate” “No, Sweetie please go back outside and play”. “Mom, can I have the Winnie the Pooh plate.” “Not now, I’m dinner is not ready for plates”. “Mom, can I” (I’ve lost my patience) “NO, go back outside and wait for dinner, NOW”

Dinner time comes. I enjoy dinnertime chatter but at some point it’s just too much. I usually draw the line when it becomes very repetitive or the singing starts. Singing while eating is NOT the time for singing! šŸ™‚ I think I had to ask her to “be quiet and eat” about 10 times during the half hour at the table.

Getting her to stop daunting her younger siblings is the worst. The provoked fights and NOT listening or stopping when I ask. UGH this is so frustrating. Please tell me I am not alone. I absolutely love my little girl and we do have good days.

What are some ways you have learned to overcome “broken ear syndrome”?

 

Leave a Reply

